Of a Cesarean

I’m going to warn you of two things. First, I’m about to type in all capitals. No, nothing’s wrong with me. Second, there will be a small amount of graphic details.

There. You’re warned.

Now, for the first of the things.

I WATCHED A CESAREAN SECTION.  A REAL ONE. FIRST. EVER. BIRTH.

I HELD THE PLACENTA.

Oh MAN!

Alright. That’s done. I think . . .  It truly was amazing. The all caps up there somehow seem to trivialize it and make it loud. I like the loud part, but not the trivializing. Now, I bet a good chunk of you reading this are thinking that it’s weird that I find immense pleasure in watching a c-section, not to mention holding a bloody placenta that was losing heat quickly (i.e. it was getting a bit cold). And, I’d probably think it absolutely disgusting not too many years ago. But now, I wouldn’t give up the experience for the world, and I wish that there was some way that I could make it into the OR again for another one.

I’ve been wondering for awhile how I’d take surgery (OR proper . . . not just scopes), and was pretty convinced that I’d have a slightly hard time with it. I mean, come on! Cutting open skin, slicing through fat and muscle, the smell of the cauterizer (not necessarily a word)? Yuck! But, surprisingly, things went just fine, and the only thing I had a slightly hard time with was the smell of the cauterizer (but only at the beginning).

Actually, it went so well, that when the surgeon broke the water (and those of you who’ve gone through it know that it really does break. I hadn’t realized how forceful it was) and things seemed to get even more exciting, my stomach growled so loud that the nurses and assists laughed. Apparently they “wouldn’t have trouble with this student today.” I couldn’t help it, though! I was ravenous.

(Oh, and of all things, this song was coming over the speakers during the surgery. It’s the only one I remember, but there were other ones.)

Baby and Mom were both healthy and beautiful. Mom, Dad and Grandma cried, not to mention Baby. It was amazing, and it was all I could do not to burst out bawling myself. (Call me what you will, I believe that there’s nothing wrong with that.) The nurses let me participate in performing the Apgar and Dubowitz scores, and then we were out of the OR and into the nursery on the floor.

For the rest of the shift on the floor, I was in charge of recording Baby’s vitals (Mom’s vitals were automatically taken every fifteen minutes and charted), assessing how quickly Mom’s sensation in her legs were coming back, checking and massaging the fundus, helping feed Baby,getting information, and generally being pretty pleased with the world.

I’d been waiting for an OB, and now that it’s done with, I miss it. I’m definitely going to have to find a place that lets me help with OB.

Happy Saturday!

3 thoughts on “Of a Cesarean

  1. You know, if you replaced all the references to surgery and childbirth with “Skydiving” or “Bungee jumping off of the Golden Gate Bridge” it would probably make this sound less intense.

    Some people ride roller coasters. Nurses show up at work, evidently.

  2. Heh. I hadn’t really realized how much “TMI” was really in here until I read it again just the other day. I’d apologize to those who lost their lunches, but I’m thinking that it’s not necessary.

Leave a Reply

