LPN Year – Thanksgiving Break Mark

“The very first cannon of nursing, the first and the last thing upon which a nurse’s attention must be fixed, the first essential to a patient, without which all the rest you can do for him is as nothing, with which I had almost said you may leave all the rest alone, is this: TO KEEP THE AIR HE BREATHES AS PURE AS THE EXTERNAL AIR, WITHOUT CHILLING HIM.”
– Florence Nightingale on Ventilation and Warming

My dad recently bought me a book of Ms. Nightingale’s notes on nursing. I’ve not read much of it at this point, but what I have seems very practical and sound. Although many things she says may not be as applicable now as they were then, reading what had to be done then is a very good thing.

My fifth clinical went over as well as I’d hoped it to. Lessons learned include:

1.) Tube feedings go over much more quickly if the patient is in bed.
My particular patient was up in a chair, and though this was not unfitting to the situation, it made the meal take that much longer. Ah well.

2.) Lifts that are tracks along the ceiling are oh so nice. Not only did I feel like I had more control of where my patient was going, but I felt more confident in his safety. I didn’t have to think about how I was going to be able to move a large lift around without banging my patient into anything.

3.) My fear of cleaning a stoma was wholly unfounded.

Now, I’m sure there are many other things that I learned, but those are the things I remember most now.

Thanksgiving comes, and so does the snow. This means that break (a relatively general term, obviously) has commenced. I have until 0800 on Monday to help as much as possible (and desired) in the kitchen and around the house. Of this, I’m very glad. And of the title “neat freak”, I am unashamed.

Maybe over break I’ll be able to dig something more organized and enjoyable up for this blog. Here’s hoping . .

May you all have a blessed Thanksgiving!

5 thoughts on “LPN Year – Thanksgiving Break Mark

  1. You too! (The Thanksgiving part) Hope you’re able to do at least three-quarters of what you’re intending to do, and enjoy all of it; sounds like this break has been long-awaited.

  2. Here’s hoping you’re break is just as you wished mine – if not better.
    Yeah, I remember turning green when hearing how much break college students had. Now, I know that the statement, “Ignorance is bliss” really applies.
    You all celebrate Thanksgiving in a civilized manner up there, right? Turkey, cranberries, pumpkin pie, the works?

  3. Hi Jennifer,

    Congratulations on winning the teacup trio giveaway on my blog! I did email you on the day of drawing and again a few days later, so the emails must have been classified as spam.

    I just emailed you again this time without the link that was included in the other two emails. If you don’t get this last email, could you please email me (I have an email link under my blog header).

    Best wishes,

    Carla. :)

  4. Woah, you won some cups?

    Yes, we follow Thanksgiving protocol, for the most part. I think the cranberries are obligatory here though; not entirely sure who eats those things. All I know is that we start out with a bowl of what looks like coagulated blood, and later those same bowls are clean and back in the cupboards. Stuffing, on the other hand…

  5. Yeah, I did. I’m surprised myself . .

    Coagulated. Blood. Bad. Cranberries aren’t so bad you know, but now I’ll never be able to look at them the same way again.

Leave a Reply

