Clinical 2 ~

First – let it be known that I shall not break the rules of HIPAA in any way here. Doing so would compromise my promise and conscience.

I have to say that those people we nursing students are assigned to care for are very gracious. I’m not sure whether I would be so sweet and confident should a nursing student with an aura of fear walk into my room and tell me she was taking care of me. Then again, I hope that aura of fear isn’t noticeable to the people I’m caring for.

I was assigned to pass meds for my resident. Now, those who are TMAs find no difficulty with this part, but I’d never touched a med cart in my life (except for occasionally moving them out of the way). This meant that the case study that needed filled out (a good 13 pager), included all of the meds given at PM and HS. When giving them, I needed my instructor, who: supervised, asked what the medicine was, made sure I checked three times to avoid error, was able to explain why my resident was on each, had me identify various adverse effects, and so on. We’re allowed to tow that case study around to use for answering various questions.

The first medication I had to give wasn’t too long after the shift started. I knew I needed to let my instructor know when and what so that she would be present. I left my various sheets and books (case study included) with other students and ran to find her. She looked at the clock and decided that we could give the medication then.

Now, I was freaked out enough – even though this medication was something that just about every person I know has in their cabinet. But now, I didn’t have my “cheat sheet” with me. My resident watched me stutter and stumble as I listed the adverse effects that I could remember and as my teacher finished the rest. Fortunately for me, the resident and my teacher are extremely patient, and know that I’m only a student.

The rest of clinical was filled with obtaining information from my resident and their charts, CNA work (something that was surprisingly familiar and comfortable), BGL checks and sliding scales, and a general feeling of utter stupidity. I learned that clinicals aren’t nearly as bad as I thought they were going to be, that medicine carts do not have gnashing teeth, and that developing a relationship with your client is extremely important.

I’m hoping that as each clinical goes by, I learn more than the last; that with each case study, things will go quicker because I remember.

But, we shall have to see . . .

Leave a Reply

