“If no one asks me, I know what it is.”

Time pops up in the strangest places. It just so happens that I’ve found one of those places now.

I hadn’t meant to find it, really. There was no way to predict finding it at this hour. Lately it seems to lurk or slunk about like a mischievous boy seeking cracks to spill his sneaky plans into. Slippery though it be, occasionally (like now) it slows enough to be snatched.

But once held, it disappears as quickly as it came. Like a butterfly one thought caught, but still staring quietly from a distance.

“What then is time? If no one asks me, I know what it is. If I wish to explain it to him who asks, I do not know.”
– Augustine

Leave a Reply

