Day 30 + Promised Recipe

Bobotie
THE BOBOTIE FILLING
· 1 lb beef, minced
· 2 eggs
· 2 slices white bread, stale with crusts removed
· 1 onion, thinly sliced
· 2 tbsp cooking oil
· 2 tbsp hot water
· 2 tbsp sugar
· 2 tbsp lemon juice
· 2 tsp curry powder
· ½ tsp ground cloves
· 1 tsp garlic, crushed
· 1 tsp turmeric
· ½ tsp salt

THE BOBOTIE TOPPING
· 1 egg, lightly beaten
· ½ cup milk
· bay leaves or lemon leaves for garnishing

Pre-heat the oven to 325o F.
Soak the bread in water for 10 minutes, squeeze out the excess and then crumble.

In a large frying pan, heat the oil and braise the onion until golden.

Break the two eggs into a large bowl and beat lightly. Mix in the mince

Add the onion mixture from the frying pan, the hot water, lemon juice, crumbled bread, turmeric and sugar to the mince, mixing well.
Spoon the mixture into a well-greased, oven-proof dish and bake for 40 minutes, or until golden brown and then remove from the oven.

Topping
Combine the other egg with the milk and beat well. Pour the mixture over the bobotie and arrange the bay/lemon leaves as garnish. Return to the oven and bake at 350o F for 10 minutes, or until the topping is set.

(This isn’t exactly the same recipe, but it’s essentially the same . . . . you know . . . .)

6 thoughts on “Day 30 + Promised Recipe

  1. “Spoon the mixture?” Really? What a riot! Oh, ho-ho, that’s hilarious!

    No, I’m not picking on you. I know as well as everyone that other people use it too. I guess I just don’t read enough recipes. But now that I have discovered the incomprehensible jollies to be gotten from reading such Foonglish, I’ll have to “spoon a dollop” into “the mixture” of my literary “hotdish,” and, perhaps, “enjoy,” or something.

    By the way, “garnish” always makes me laugh, too. If some devil-cake-ish chef were to somehow make a taco-salad garnish and present it me, I firmly believe I would have no other choice but to die laughing.

    Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Dandelionmom – It’s pronounced “buh-boo-tee”, and it IS good!

    Caleb – You’d get a kick out of the recipes down here. There different enough from the States’ that even I get a kick out of them.

    Saw something like, “Put on pot and bring to the boil – stirring occasionally.”

    Taco Salad. Honestly, that’s absolutely hilarious only because it’s so random to think funny.

    You’re welcome. You should try it.

  3. I beg to differ. It’s also funny because, ordinarily, smells aren’t funny, and this is the first in my experience.

  4. That was actually my point. It’s only hilarious to me in that it was random because you find the smell funny.

    But since you’re begging about such a strange thing, I suppose I’ll let this pass and not explain any further.

  5. You and I have always had differing definitions of “random.” But still I’m very blond, and more so by the day in all this sun. In short, oops.

Leave a Reply

