Day 9

In the first picture, you see Jack. He’s a boatload of fun, and I’m still trying to decide whether or not his British accent is more prominent than his American one.

We took a walk today. Besides heading to a little grocery store, we also dropped by the pharmacy a block or so away. The pharmacy is located in a clinic, though the clinic is much bigger, fancier, and more like a hospital than the clinics in the States. Not only were there ambulances, there were also surgical team members walking around in their special get-up.

Pup:

This dish looks almost exactly like mashed potatoes. It tastes very different though. Instead of potatoes, it’s corn. The texture is much smoother, and almost sticks to your mouth. From what I’ve gathered, it’s a love or hate type of food. I’m of the former. It’s still different enough to take some getting used to, but I’m glad of it.

Boerwors:

This sausage tastes very similar to a brat. The shape seems to distinguish it most from similar sausages. As you can tell by the name (pronounced, “boorvorse”), it claims its roots in Boer culture.

Rusks:

This is a common dessert here. Similar in texture to a biscotti, it is dunked in a hot drink in order to be able to bite. The traditional rusk (pictured above) tastes much like a large shortbread cookie.

There are many more cultural foods down here than the ones I’ve shown here (not that you needed me to tell you that). These, however, are the dishes that I’ve tried.

Oh, and by the way, good morning! We’ve been at it for a good eight hours now, but I know you all haven’t. :)

4 thoughts on “Day 9

  1. I had forgotten ALL about Rusks!! My Great-grandpa was a Dutch emigre and we had them all the time! (with my milky tea poured into a saucer-still not sure why)

    I am really liking reading these posts-a lot. You look like you are doing well? Miss me? :P

  2. They’re so great! I bought some the other day to bring home to the family. Cocoa seems to be a common thing to have them with in this particular household.

    Good! I really hope they’re satisfying the requirement of proof that I feel more than just alive. And I’m doing pretty well! The altitude gets to me, but only very occasionally. Since it’s winter, colds are common, and I’ve succeeded in having contact with one myself. Other than that, things are great! The kiddos here keep things pretty exciting, and the family is very gracious.

    And, duh! Course I do. :D

  3. Is the city in the mountains, or down by the water? I tried to do a quick check on the elevation, before I asked, but our internet connection went down briefly, so I thought I’d just ask.

  4. No problem. I believe that we’re in the mountains. We’re about 1753m as far as altitude goes, so that’s one of the reasons for the relatively mild climate.

    That’s another thing here . . . internet is fishy.

Leave a Reply

