Day 3

My computer is still set to Minnesotan time, so I keep getting thrown for a loop whenever I glance at the time on here.

It’s about 2:57 in the afternoon now, so I’ve been awake (Mostly, you know. You can walk around and still be only 56%.) and clean since before most of Minnesota even contemplated anything but darkness. And jet lag really isn’t that bad. I’m a bit foggy, I suppose, but only a bit.

The flight over went well. I was booked for an aisle seat so I prepared myself for the long fifteen hours. However, the fellow booked to sit in the window seat said he had a bad hip (and, of course I believed him), so I offered to switch. It wasn’t going to be so bad, right? How could being in a window seat over the ocean during two sunsets and a sunrise even be considered bad?

And I don’t want to overstate the case. It was absolutely amazing to be able to look out the window over the ocean and to see the lights flicker off the wings when it was dark . . . . but, the fellow sitting next to me never got up. Not once. Now, you’re probably thinking, “Well, she could’ve just asked him to move. It’s not that hard.” But, for the first half of the flight, when he would sleep, I would be awake, and when I would sleep, he would be awake. The second half, we both just slept the majority of the time.

But that was fifteen hours . . . I’m still relishing in the feeling of working, walking, pain-responding lower limbs. :)

Really though, it was good. I’m not trying to complain.

This morning, we went for a walk about the neighborhood. It really surprised me how different it is here. Houses are still houses, obviously, and dogs still bark just as loudly, but it’s still very different.

P.S. For those who are wondering, the last picture of yesterday’s post is of a town (I believe. I don’t know if it might be considered a village.) in Mozambique.

P.P.S. For those readers here who try funny or weird foods (You know who you are.) . . . have you ever put pesto underneath the cheese of your pizza? Is that weird, or no?

4 thoughts on “Day 3

  1. You know, I think I might be having a slightly hard time with it. During the flight it was worse, but still not very noticeable. It’s very manageable. :)

  2. It was weird though! They served it to us on the flight, and it was during what was supposed to be breakfast time. It wasn’t horrid or anything, but still.

    Noticed that Argentina didn’t make it . . . and this house is rooting for Holland. :D

Leave a Reply

