Piece of Cake

My week of break is coming to an end, alas. I’ve heard from a few that their college doesn’t have spring break until next week, and a couple that don’t have it till the last week of March. I suppose that I could be relatively pleased that spring break was here for me this past week, but it would certainly be more fitting if the word “spring” was taken out of it.

The week was full of quietness and rest, the house often filled with the scent of fresh-baked bread. Concerts were attended on both Monday and Tuesday evenings. I wish that I had gotten in more reading, but that small plan of mine got crushed.

However, this afternoon I’m planning on making a cake for this evening (a church book discussion that tries to meet twice a month). Being that strawberries are so well liked around here, I decided that this would be a good choice:


Strawberry Swirl Cake
Oven: 350°F

Ingredients:
2 cups cake flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
3/4 cup milk

For “swirl”:
Hot, nearly boiled water
1 package of strawberry jello

Frosting:
(I cheat…)
1 tub of whipped cream

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 2 9-inch cake pans.
In bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt with a wire whisk.
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla and mix until completely combines. Slowly add flour alternately with milk. At end of addition batter should be smooth. Divide between 2 pans.

Mix package of jello and a small amount of nearly boiled water. Carefully spoon small amounts onto top of batter in pans. It is up to you how much of the “swirl” that you want. I like to add enough that when it’s cooked, people can taste the strawberry flavor. Take a knife and gently stir around, thus creating an abstract design of red. Make sure that you don’t stir too much. Doing so will just turn the cake pink.

Bake Yellow Cake Recipe for 20 to 25 minutes. Cool 5 minutes in pan, then invert onto a rack and cool completely before frosting.

Once cake is cooled, frost and assemble. I like whipped cream for this recipe. It’s light, and not too sweet.

Top with sliced strawberries (optional)

Easy and quick! And now, I’ve got to get making it.

P.S. There, Dandelionmom – I’ve put a cake up! Happy?

10 thoughts on “Piece of Cake

  1. Caleb – *looks bewildered*

    Youngwifey – Thanks! It’s really easy too!

    Unkowing – I would ship some off to you right now, but, unfortunately for you, I’m not quite sure something like that is feasible.
    The picture is the finished product.(Though not the one that I made today, they all turn out looking much the same.) It’s not quite like angel food cake, but from what I gathered from the general uproar – it was good.

  2. hhhhmmmm I forget mentioning that you should display your cake talents here…but upon consideration…yes, it DOES make me quite happy!

  3. Good! I vaguely remember you linking to my blog when you got that nice cake stand (is that what it’s called?) for me. That was a while ago, but better late than never!

Leave a Reply

