On blogging

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on the usefulness of “blogs”. You can find just about any kind of blog out there – journals, articles, book reviews, angry (rather disappointing reads, I’ll tell you), silly ones, weird ones, music, and the most important and only worthwhile : edifying. If you think about it, how often do you really run across one like that? Every blog is usually just pictures, a journal post of one’s day, and often silly rants about something that isn’t even worth looking at twice.

Now, I’m noticing that the only time I really have something edifying to say on this blog, it’s when I copy and paste a favorite quote or poem. This is rather unfortunate. I very often find myself starting a post that is all about me. Not about God, His word, good examples of the Christian life that I meet from day to day. When I notice that, I delete it and start over, but even then I find myself disappointed in the quality of this blog.

Essentially, a blog these days is really just a soap box for the whole world to see. You can tell them what you think about anything you want at any time of the day.

But should you? I don’t think so.

This may sting, but I’m talking to myself more than anybody. It was because of this sort of thing that I decided to delete my facebook account. I was wasting too much time on something that was completely self-centered. Telling the world little sayings and quotes that weren’t worth reading – usually. But – we must beware. Just because you don’t have a facebook, but keep a blog doesn’t mean that you’re better off. I’ve run across many blogs that were thousands of times worse than most of the facebook pages that I saw. You know the little statistic map down on the right here? I’m going to delete that. Why should I be so proud of the number of visitors on here that I want everyone to know where they come from? It’s something to think about.

A blog should have worthwhile content. When you open up a blog, you don’t want to be smacked in the face with silly, trivial things. I’m not saying that all pictures, stories, or personal experiences aren’t worthwhile. What I’m saying is, make sure they are.

Thus – I shall try harder to present the readers (even though they be few) of this blog with more worthwhile posts.

“Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it.”

– C.S. Lewis

One thought on “On blogging

Leave a Reply

