The afterlife of my high school graduation –

You know, last year I was really really looking forward to graduation. I could smell the freedom. It beckoned to me from a short distance away. I was almost there!

But, as the months ticked by, and the day came closer and closer, it didn’t seem like such a big deal. Sure,I looked forward to it. Sure, I liked the idea of coming home from work at 3:00 PM and not having to start my school day.

But – well – the fact that I had come to was that I was just finishing another part of my life. Yes, it was a mile-marker, but in the end, my life was not going to drastically change.

In the words of a fellow graduate who gave an address : This is not an end or a beginning, really.

On Monday and Tuesday, I left for work at 5:30 AM and got home around 3:00 PM exhausted. Today, Wednesday, my mom and I painted a wall in the kitchen/dining room. Tonight, I’m hoping to clean my room. Everyday activities in an everyday life.

I don’t think that it’s really hit me yet that I’m done with high school forever. I don’t know if it ever will. I have a nice long summer ahead of me, filled with hopeful reading and other things, and after that, I’ll start school again. I know, it’s a different school, and yes – it’s more for vocation than education – but I really don’t think that this is going to be much different from my other summers when I was in grade school.

In the end, I don’t think of myself any differently. I see friends posting how excited they are about their new found freedom, but – I can’t seem to understand.

Leave a Reply

